25 September 2015 Judges take the oath of office at the National Assembly

25 September 2015 Judges take the oath of office at the National Assembly

Friday, 25 September 2015

Judges Take Oath of Office at National Assembly

The judges elected to judicial office for the first time on 24 July this year at the Extraordinary Session of the National Assembly, took the oath of office today, at the National Assembly, before Parliament Speaker Maja Gojkovic.

The oath was taken by 10 newly-elected judges of the Magistrates Court in Belgrade and one each from the Basic Court in Cacak and Commercial Court in Uzice.

The oath-taking was attended by Minister of Justice Nikola Selakovic and the President of the High Judicial Council Dragomir Milojevic.

Gojkovic wished the judges success in the performance of their duty saying that she believes that they would pursue it independently and without bias in line with the law and Constitution, following their conscience, and ensure a just trial for everyone, thus contributing to the reputation of the judicial office in the Republic of Serbia.

“We believe that, in the course of your three-year term of office in basic and special courts, as newly-elected bearers of judicial office, you will greatly contribute to the continued reform of the judicial system, aimed at creating an independent, modern and efficient judiciary and promoting the rule of law in its entirety”, said Gojkovic.

As stipulated by the Law on Judges, before assuming office, judges must take the oath of office before the National Assembly Speaker.

Previous month Next month
29 30 1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31 1 2
monday, 6 july
  • 13.00 - press conference of MPs Sasa Radulovic, Branka Stamenkovic and Vojin Biljic (National Assembly House, 13 Nikola Pasic Square, Central Hall)

Full event calendar